PHS athletes recognized at annual awards night
by PI Staff
May 29, 2013 | 1295 views | 0 0 comments | 207 207 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Patterson High honored its standout spring athletes Wednesday, May 22 at its Spring Athletic Awards Night inside the school’s gymnasium.

Though many athletes received awards, both Joey Howard and Shantel Perez stole the show.

Howard, Patterson’s Senior Male Athlete of the Year, and Perez, Patterson’s Senior Female Athlete of the Year, earned lifetime passes for any Tiger’s home sporting event.

Howard earned the honor by anchoring the cross-country, wrestling and boys tennis teams.

Perez, a two-sport athlete, excelled in girls basketball and girls soccer.

Patterson baseball coach Benji Lozano named co-captain Jake Thompson the team’s Most Valuable Player. Meanwhile, Andrew Basaldua earned Outstanding Offensive Player honors, and Joey Lopes came away with the Outstanding Defensive Player award. Co-captain Jonathan Rodriguez received the Coach’s award.

Kianna Garza took home the softball team’s Outstanding Offensive Player award, while teammates Brianna Palafox and Dayna Hansen each earned the Tiger Pride award.

Francheska Olvera came away with the Outstanding Defensive Player award. Olvera and Sadie Schut were named co-captains.

Tigers track and field coach Shellie Freres named Hunter Powers and Tiana Barron her Most Valuable Athletes.

Nathan Stanton and Megan McWilliams each earned the track team’s Tiger Pride award. Teammates Antonio Venegas and Tyra Tate took home Coach’s awards.

Austin Luckert and Ariyanna Cashen were named the Most Improved Athletes. Stanton, McWilliams, Nick Russell and Jaliyah Anderson were also named co-captains.

Patterson girls soccer coach Cade Tomasegovich named co-captains Eliana Varela and Claudia Barron the team’s co-MVPs. Cristina Tinoco earned Tiger Pride honors, and Berenice Ayala garnered the Coach’s award.

Patterson boys golf coach George Crawford named Carlos Martinez the team’s Most Valuable Golfer, and team captain Philip Apostol came away with the Tiger Pride award.

For the second straight season, Patterson’s Sterling Ramirez was named the boys tennis team’s MVP. Team captain John Minton earned Coach’s award honors.

Francisco Lagarde took the Tiger Pride Award, and Jorge Canales was the team’s Most Improved Player.

Patterson coach Amy Castillo named Michael D’Onofrio MVP of the boys swim team for a second straight campaign. Lizvette Villafana earned MVP honors for the girls swim team.

Justin Mora and Isabella Howell both came away with Most Improved Swimmer honors, while Steven Halseth, Anthony Francis and Stephanie Esqueda all took Tiger Pride awards.

Aaron Gonzales, Keith Gordon, Alejandra Munoz and Leticia Francis were the swim team’s co-captains.

Junior varsity

The Patterson High JV spring athletics season also capped off at the annual Spring Athletic Awards Night on May 22, inside the school’s gymnasium.

Patterson’s Kevin Phelps earned the JV baseball team’s MVP award. Teammate Alec Espos took home the Outstanding Offensive Player award. Jaren Nothstein received the Comeback Player award.

JV softball coach Harley Parson named Hayley Anderson the team’s Outstanding Offensive Player, while teammate Idalis Besinaiz was deemed the team’s Outstanding Defensive Player. Sonia Garza also came away with the Tiger Pride award.

Besinaiz and Courtney Palla were co-captains.

JV girls soccer coach Sheila Ludwig also handed out a trio of awards.

Paulina Gonzalez claimed the team’s MVP honor. Teammate Andrea Aguilar earned the Tiger Pride Award, while Lourdes Ramirez came away with Most Improved Player honors.

Jinely Reyes, Sophia Pepe and Cinthia Cantero were named co-captains.

Freres named Sean Hicks and Huma Aziz the JV team’s Most Valuable Athletes. Teammates Aziz and Kozi Ogbuli both earned Tiger Pride honors.

Christopher Perez and Bhajan Phul took home Coach’s awards. Ogbuli, Cameron Tracy, Anna Martin and Megan Cuellar were named co-captains.

Contact Marc Aceves at 892-6187, ext. 28, or

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at